1895 Cup

8 May 2022

Leigh Centurions on the way to Tottenham Hotspur

Leigh Centurions on the way to Tottenham Hotspur

Leigh Centurions set up a heavyweight showdown with Featherstone Rovers in the 2022 AB Sundecks 1895 Cup Final at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium on May 28 with a 30-12 victory over Sheffield Eagles, live on Our League. 

The Eagles were the inaugural winners of the competition back in 2019 defeating Widnes Vikings at Wembley Stadium and were level with the Centurions heading into the final 20 minutes.

Sheffield did take the lead after nine minutes through veteran centre Kris Welham who pounced on an Anthony Thackeray kick which bounced favourably for the Eagles. Izaac Farrell would convert and add a further penalty goal to make it 0-8. 

Leigh hit back through Sam Stone as the first half drew to a close, but another Farrell penalty goal meant Mark Aston’s side led 6-10 at the break.

After the interval, Kai O’Donnell scrambled over for Leigh with Krisnan Inu’s conversion giving Leigh a narrow lead for the first time. However, that lasted just 13 minutes as Farrell was once again successful with the boot to pull the scores level. 

Leigh camped on the Eagles line for a sustained period as the final ten minutes approached and they did eventually break the Sheffield wall as Nene MacDonald climbed highest for a cross-field kick.

Two minutes later Caleb Aekins would score to give Leigh a comfortable lead and a late breakaway try from Ed Chamberlain confirmed the Centurions’ appearance at Spurs later this month.

Tickets for the Betfred Challenge Cup and AB Sundecks 1895 Cup Final double-header are available here.

Leigh Centurions: Caleb Aekins, Keanan Brand, Ed Chamberlain, Nene MacDonald, Krisnan Inu; Ben Reynolds, Joe Mellor; Adam Sidlow, Aaron Smith, Tom Amone, Joe Wardle, Sam Stone, John Asiata.

Interchanges: James McDonnell, Kai O’Donnell, Ben Nakubuwai, Edwin Ipape. 

Sheffield Eagles: Quentin Laulu-Togaga’e, Ben Jones-Bishop, Kris Welham, Ryan Johnson, Jason Bass; Izaac Farrell, Anthony Thackeray; __ Douglas, Vila Halafihi, Connor Bower, Joel Farrell, __ Hodgson.

Interchanges: Ross Oakes, Mikey Wood, Blake Broadbent, Tom Holmes.