1895 Cup

8 May 2022

Featherstone set for second AB Sundecks 1895 Cup Final appearance

Featherstone set for second AB Sundecks 1895 Cup Final appearance

Featherstone Rovers will have the opportunity to defend their AB Sundecks 1895 Cup at Tottenham Hotspur on Saturday 28 May after dispatching of Barrow Raiders 6-46 at Craven Park, in front of the Our League cameras.

The Rovers were crowned the second ever winners of the AB Sundecks 1895 Cup at Wembley Stadium last year with a 34-41 victory over York City Knights and will aim to defend their title against Leigh Centurions.

Smith opened the scoring for Rovers with a lovely show-and-go from close-range. Barrow would gift Featherstone their second try of the afternoon as Hall took an interception 20 metres from the Raiders line. 

Some neat hands out to the right-hand side eventually found Luke Briscoe who planted down for his 100th career try, ensuring Brian McDermott’s side went into the break with a 0-16 lead. 

Featherstone continued to control proceedings after the break with forward duo John Davies and Brett Ferres both barging their way over either side of Barrow’s only try of the game which came from Dan Toal. 

Mark Kheirallah would finish a flowing Featherstone move with less than ten minutes left on the clock before Ryley Jacks and a second from Briscoe furthered the scoreline in favour of the visitors.

Tickets for the Betfred Challenge Cup and AB Sundecks 1895 Cup Final double-header are available here.


Barrow Raiders: Luke Cresswell, Tee Ritson, Jarrad Stack, Ryan Shaw, Brett Carter; Jarrod Sammut, Ryan Johnston; Sam Brooks, Josh Wood, Ellis Gillam, Tom Hopkins, Danny Morrow, Bradd Crellin. 

Interchanges: Nathan Mossop, Dan Toal, Anton Iaria, Sam Eseh.

Featherstone Rovers: Mark Kheirallah, Luke Briscoe, Joey Leilua, Ben Hellewell, Craig Hall; Morgan Smith, Ryley Jacks; Craig Kopczak, Matty Wildie, James Lockwood, Jack Bussey, John Davies, Junior Moors. 

Interchanges: Connor Jones, Brett Ferres, Luke Cooper, Jesse Sene-Lefao.